HeritageGateway - Home
Site Map
Text size: A A A
You are here: Home > > > > Devon & Dartmoor HER Result
Devon & Dartmoor HERPrintable version | About Devon & Dartmoor HER | Visit Devon & Dartmoor HER online...

See important guidance on the use of this record.

If you have any comments or new information about this record, please email us.

HER Number:MDV23031
Name:Newton Abbot Almshouses, East Street


Row of 4 almshouses in picturesque Tudor style. Built in 1845 to replace those originally endowed by Lady Reynell in Torquay Road in 1640.


Grid Reference:SX 861 711
Map Sheet:SX87SE
Admin AreaDevon
Civil ParishNewton Abbot
Ecclesiastical ParishWOLBOROUGH

Protected Status

Other References/Statuses

  • Old DCC SMR Ref: SX87SE/225
  • Old Listed Building Ref (II)

Monument Type(s) and Dates

  • ALMSHOUSE (XIX - 1845 AD to 1845 AD (Throughout))

Full description

Ordnance Survey, 1855-1895, First Edition 1:500 Town Map (Cartographic). SDV338879.

Row of almshouses marked on 1855-95 1:500 Town Map.

Department of Environment, 1983, Newton Abbot, 19 (List of Blds of Arch or Historic Interest). SDV298253.

Nos 109 to 115 (odd), East street.(rebuilt in 1845). Group of Tudor style almshouses. Two storeys granite with stone tiled roofs. Nos 109 and 117 break forward having gable with kneelers with one paired gothic window, embattled to ground floors, and plain doorcase in side. Nos 111 and 113 have single gothic windows, central blank with tablet and central paired 4 centred arch with hood moulding with double door. Windows generally retain their leaded lights.

Ordnance Survey, 2012, MasterMap (Cartographic). SDV348725.

English Heritage, 2012, National Heritage List for England (National Heritage List for England). SDV348729.

Numbers 109-115 and attached walls and gate piers, 109-115 East Street. Group of 4 almshouses. 1845. MATERIALS: squared Devon limestone rubble with larger blocks to quoins, kneelers and gable parapets; painted freestone dressings; slate roof with cream brick stacks to rear. STYLE: Picturesque Tudor. PLAN: U-plan with 2 forward outer gabled bays. EXTERIOR: 2 storeys; 1:3:1 fenestration. The gabled ranges of Nos 109 to the left and 115 to the right have loopholes to the apexes, flat arches over 2-light leaded casement windows with Tudor arch and sunk spandrels to each light. Those to ground floor are taller with crenellated lintels. Entrances are in the returns. The central houses have single-light windows similar to first-floor outer ones flanking a hoodmould and double plank doors below a blind window with inscription. INTERIOR: not inspected. SUBSIDIARY FEATURES: attached to outer corners are rubblestone walls approximately 1 metre high and 1 metres long and paired gabled gate piers with roll-moulded ridges and recessed triangular panels to front. HISTORY: first built in 1640 in Torquay Road endowed by Lady Lucy Reynell wife of the owner of Forde House, Torquay Road, who intended them to accommodate the widows, "the relicts of preaching ministers, left poor, without a house of their own". The original building was demolished in 1790 and rebuilt in East Street nearer to the town centre. Date listed: 22nd March 1983.

Sources / Further Reading

SDV298253List of Blds of Arch or Historic Interest: Department of Environment. 1983. Newton Abbot. Historic Houses Register. A4 Spiral Bound. 19.
SDV338879Cartographic: Ordnance Survey. 1855-1895. First Edition 1:500 Town Map. First Edition 1:500 Town Map. Map (Digital).
SDV348725Cartographic: Ordnance Survey. 2012. MasterMap. Ordnance Survey. Map (Digital).
SDV348729National Heritage List for England: English Heritage. 2012. National Heritage List for England. Website.

Associated Monuments

MDV9233Related to: Clergy Widow's Houses, Newton Abbot (Monument)

Associated Finds: none recorded

Associated Events: none recorded

Date Last Edited:May 29 2012 11:01AM